How to watch Dr Who Series 8 online outside the UK

Share Button

It’s that time again, time for a new series of the ever so popular Dr Who. Series 8 kicks off on Saturday 23rd August 2014 and will be shown on the BBC in the UK at 19:50. There are many Dr Who fans around the world and plenty of people are asking how can I watch Dr Who Series 8 online outside of the UK.

The Dr. is popular in hundreds of countries around the world with the United States, European Mainland, Asia and Australia having huge fan bases. In fact it’s so popular the series is sold around the world to many networks in hundreds of countries. One downside to living outside the UK if you’re a Dr Who fan is it can take days, weeks or even months for the latest series (season) to arrive on the shores of your country of residence. This would be really annoying especially if there are chances you could see spoilers online from those who have already watched it or see news releases that tease at little bits of storyline spoiling your enjoyment.

The great news is you can watch Dr Who Series 8 online outside the UK live at the same time as UK viewers on the BBC’s very own iPlayer. If you try to visit BBC iPlayer directly from outside the UK then you’ll be blocked and told that the program is only available to viewers in the UK. Lucky for you there is a system that exists called a SmartDNS. What this does is allows you access as if you are in the UK with very little work involved for you to do. There are a handful of companies who offer SmartDNS packages which behind the scenes at their end reroute your requests so the BBC website thinks that someone from the UK is requesting to watch. The result of this is, you can be sitting in the USA watching Dr Who, sitting in Australia watching Dr Who or basically sitting just about anywhere in the world watching Dr Who Series 8 online on the BBC iPlayer website.

The magic of the SmartDNS system is all done by the SmartDNS provider so apart from signing up there is very little else to do. SmartDNS providers are also extremely cheap and most cost around US$5 per month, which is roughly €3.77 or £3.01. You don’t just get access to BBC iPlayer but can access tons of online streaming media sites from around the world, most of the providers give you a list of TV channels/stations you will be able to receive so it’s worth checking what else you can use the service for. One of the best features of a SmartDNS is you don’t lose any speed of your internet connection so can stream in the highest quality.

Dr Who LogoTwo providers we highly recommend are :-

  1. Overplay
  2. SmartDNSProxy

There are plenty of other good providers in our SmartDNS Comparison Guide so feel free to shop around if you wish.

Once you’ve signed up just follow our How to setup Smart DNS easily on Windows guide and you’ll be up and running within about 5 minutes. If you have a Mac, Tablet or other device most providers have simple guides you can follow to set up by visiting their FAQ section.

Then just head over to the BBC iPlayer website click “One” then press “Watch Live” at 19:50 on 23rd August 2014 then every Saturday for the next 11 weeks at a similar time.

19:50 in the UK is :-

Beijing, China - Sunday, 24 August 2014, 02:50:00 CST 
Sydney, Australia - Sunday, 24 August 2014, 04:50:00 AEST 
Paris, France - Saturday, 23 August 2014, 20:50:00 CEST
Moscow, Russia - Saturday, 23 August 2014, 22:50:00 MSK
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - Saturday, 23 August 2014, 15:50:00 BRT
Los Angeles, U.S.A. - Saturday, 23 August 2014, 11:50:00 PDT
New York, U.S.A. - Saturday, 23 August 2014, 14:50:00 EDT

If you still think it all sounds too complicated or hard, watch our video guide below in which we watch an older episode as an example.

Now you can see for yourself it is extremely easy to watch Dr Who Series 8 online outside the UK!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *